How to Deactivate Facebook Account in 2022 (Complete Guide)

There’s no denying the truth that Fb is not as stylish and fashionable because it was once. Actually, the Meta-owned social media big misplaced 1 million day by day customers within the fourth quarter of 2021 for the primary time since its inception. Whether or not you might be planning to take a break from Fb or are not keen on utilizing the platform, right here’s the way to deactivate your Fb account on the web site, Android, and iPhone.

Steps to Deactivate Fb Account (2022)

Distinction Between Deactivating and Deleting Fb Account

Though most individuals use these phrases interchangeably, there’s a big distinction between deactivating and deleting your Fb account. Whereas deactivating your Fb account is a brief measure, deleting your account is everlasting and irreversible after 30 days.

Fb pages linked to your account can even be deactivated once you deactivate your account. Equally, Fb will delete all linked pages once you delete your account. In a nutshell, in case you are planning to take a brief break from Fb, it’s best to deactivate your account. However, these trying to transfer away from Fb for good ought to delete their accounts.

Deactivate Fb Account on the Net

1. Register to your Fb account on the net, click on on the down arrow on the top-right nook, and select “Settings & privateness”.

settings and privacy facebook

2. From the expanded Settings & privateness menu, click on on “Settings” to entry your Fb settings.

open settings facebook

3. From the left sidebar, change to “Your Fb Info” and click on on the “Deactivation and deletion” part.

deactivation and deletion option facebook

4. Now, select “Deactivate account” and click on on the blue “Proceed to Account Deactivation“.

continue to account deactivation fb web

5. Fb will now urge you to enter your password for authentication. Enter your Fb password and click on on “Proceed” to proceed additional.

authenticate with fb password

6. It’s best to now select a motive for leaving Fb. In what seems like a basic development hack transfer, Fb doesn’t allow you to disable automated account reactivation once you select “That is non permanent. I’ll be again” as the explanation for leaving on the net. Therefore, we might suggest you decide one of many different choices.

choose reason for leaving facebook

7. Scroll down and select if you need to maintain utilizing Messenger and opt-out of Fb emails. Maintain the checkbox unchecked when you’re not and click on on “Deactivate”.

continue to deactivate fb account

8. From the affirmation immediate that seems now, click on “Deactivate Now” to briefly deactivate your Fb account.

confirm deactivating fb account

9. Fb will now redirect you to the login display screen and present you a immediate confirming that your account has been deactivated. You may check in utilizing your Fb credentials to reactivate your account later.

deactivation confirmation screen

Deactivate Fb Account on Android

1. Open the Fb app and faucet the hamburger menu on the top-right nook. Then, faucet on “Settings & Privateness” and choose “Settings”.

facebook settings and privacy

2. Underneath Account settings, choose “Private and Account Info” and select “Account Possession and Management” to view settings associated to your Fb account.

account ownership and control

3. Now, faucet on “Deactivation and deletion” and select the “Deactivate account” toggle. After getting accomplished that, press “Proceed to account deactivation”.

continue to account deactivation

4. It’s best to now select a motive to deactivate your Fb account. Not like Fb on the net, you possibly can select to disable automated reactivation once you use “That is non permanent. I’ll be again” as the explanation on Fb’s cellular apps. Select the explanation and use the drop-down to pick the automated reactivation date.

choose reason and change automatic reactivation date

5. Set automated reactivation to “Don’t reactivate routinely” and press “Proceed”. This manner, Fb gained’t routinely reactivate your account, and you may select to return again everytime you’re prepared.

don't reactivate automatically

6. As a closing step, select if you need to maintain utilizing Messenger and receiving notifications from Fb. After that, faucet “Deactivate my account,” and that’s it. You have got efficiently disabled your Fb account.

account deactivation successful

Deactivate Fb Account on iPhone

1. Open the Fb app in your iPhone and change to the Menu tab from the underside navigation bar. Now, press “Settings & Privateness” and select “Settings”.

settings and privacy fb ios

2. Faucet on “Private and account data” underneath account settings and select “Account possession and management” from the following display screen.

account ownership and control fb ios

3. Up subsequent, press “Deactivation and deletion” and allow the “Deactivate account” toggle. After doing this, faucet on “Proceed to Account Deactivation”.

deactivate fb account on iphone

4. Select the explanation to deactivate your Fb account and faucet “Proceed”. Be certain that to pick the “Don’t reactivate routinely” possibility from the following display screen to keep away from automated account reactivation.

choose reason and turn off automatic reactivation

5. Press “Proceed” and evaluation if you need to get notifications and preserve utilizing Messenger. Lastly, press “Deactivate My Account” to disable your account on Fb.

save messenger preferences and deactivate

6. As you possibly can see within the picture beneath, Fb will now deactivate your account. You may select to achieve entry to your account by logging in together with your Fb credentials.

account deactivation successful on fb iphone

Continuously Requested Questions

Q: Do you lose your folks once you deactivate Fb?

No, you gained’t lose folks in your folks listing once you deactivate your Fb account. You’ll nonetheless be mutually linked once you reactivate your account.

Q: What does a deactivated Fb account seem like to mates?

After deactivating your Fb account, your account gained’t seem to mates on their timeline or once they seek for you. Nevertheless, some particulars like your message historical past with previous mates will nonetheless be seen of their chatbox.

Q: How lengthy are you able to deactivate a Fb for?

You may indefinitely deactivate your Fb account. In the event you select to delete your Fb account as an alternative, you possibly can’t entry the account after 30 days.

Deactivate to Take a Break from Fb

So, these are the steps you have to observe to deactivate your Fb account on the net, Android, and iOS. In the event you not want to use Fb, head to our linked article explaining the way to delete your Fb account and change to top-of-the-line Fb options. In the meantime, we even have articles to show you the way to deactivate your Instagram account, delete your Instagram account, and delete your WhatsApp account in case you might be planning to cease utilizing all Meta-owned platforms.

Leave a Comment