What Is Apple’s Shared With You Feature and How Do You Use It?

Because of know-how, it’s fairly straightforward to share media like photographs, music, the most recent information, and podcasts along with your family and friends by way of your telephone. Apple made sharing even smoother by permitting all this content material in iMessage. Nevertheless, this shared media can get simply misplaced in lengthy conversations, particularly you set it off for later viewing or studying.

To assist, Apple launched a function referred to as Shared With You with iOS 15, iPadOS 15, and macOS Monterey. This function goals that will help you discover shared media simpler. Right here’s every thing it’s worthwhile to learn about it.


What Is Shared With You?

Shared With You is a function that routinely collects and organizes all types of content material shared with you thru iMessage, maintaining it in a devoted part in every app, like Safari, Pictures, and Music. For instance, Shared With You lets you discover photographs and movies shared with you over Messages my opening the Pictures app and going to the Shared With You part.

Earlier than this, something shared with you over Messages stays in Messages. This meant that you simply needed to verify your conversations and scroll again till you discovered the content material shared with you. With Shared With You, it’s simpler to revisit shared content material or proceed the inline dialog a couple of matter you’re having in regards to the shared content material.

MAKEUSEOF VIDEO OF THE DAY

You may interact shared content material by way of the function in two methods: by way of Messages or by way of different supported apps.

Discovering Shared With You Content material in Messages

You may go to Messages, seek for a contact, and examine the completely different content material they’ve shared with you.

  • On an iPhone or iPad: Open Messages, choose your dialog, faucet the individual’s icon on the prime, then scroll down to search out all of the shared content material.
  • On a Mac: Open Messages, choose a dialog, click on the information button (i), after which scroll down to search out the individual’s shared content material.

Shared With You on Messages Search

Discovering Shared With You Content material in Different Apps

Alternatively, you may open a selected app for enjoying the devoted media and examine all of the photographs, podcasts, or different content material shared with you by completely different individuals over iMessage. Right here’s what it’s worthwhile to do for every of Apple’s supported apps:


  • Music: Faucet or click on Pay attention Now, then discover Shared With You.
  • Apple TV: Faucet or click on the Watch Now tab. You need to see the reveals and flicks within the Shared With You part.
  • Safari: Open a brand new browser tab to entry the Begin Web page. Scroll down to search out Shared With You.
  • Pictures: Choose the For You tab, then scroll down till you discover the part. If a number of pictures have been shared with you, they seem as a collage. Select See All to swipe by way of every of them.
  • Podcast: Select Pay attention Now, and scroll down till you discover the Shared With You part.
  • Information: Choose the As we speak tab and seek for the Shared With You part.

Handle Shared With You Content material

There are a number of methods to work together with content material individuals have shared with you throughout Apple’s varied supported apps.

Proceed Your Dialog

Shared With You tells you who the content material got here from. Not solely that, however the function lets you proceed your dialog with the sender. To do that:

  1. Go to an app’s Shared With You part and choose the content material.
  2. Below the content material, faucet or click on the From [Name].
  3. This can redirect you to a textual content subject that lets you reply to the media shared with you.

Pin Shared Content material

Generally we put aside content material mates share with us for later consumption, solely to overlook about them. To forestall this from taking place, you may pin content material in Messages.

To pin content material on a iPhone or iPad, open the dialog, faucet and maintain the content material, then choose Pin. On a Mac, Management-click the content material within the dialog, then click on Pin. Repeat the steps if you wish to unpin it.

Doing this places the content material on the prime of your Shared With You part and within the Particulars view of your dialog. It additionally makes it seem within the Messages search.

Restrict Content material Added to Shared With You

Should you don’t make the most of this function, or should you discover it a nuisance, you may all the time disable Shared with You. There are many choices so that you can do that.

By default, all content material shared with you over Messages by anyone saved in your contacts listing may also seem in Apple’s supported apps. Should you don’t need a particular individual’s shared content material to look in Shared With You sections, merely do the next:

  1. Go to Messages, then choose your dialog with the one who despatched the content material you wish to conceal.
  2. Faucet the title and icon on prime of the thread.
  3. Disable the change beside Present in Shared with You.
  4. Faucet Executed.

Show in Shared With You Option

Once you do that, you’ll nonetheless discover the content material within the dialog thread, however not within the Shared with You part.

Should you solely wish to take away a selected piece of shared content material:

  1. Go to the actual app’s Shared with You part, the place the content material seems.
  2. Contact and maintain the content material, then choose Take away.

Should you don’t wish to see Shared with You sections on sure apps. To do that on a iPhone/iPad:

  1. Go to Settings > Messages.
  2. Faucet Shared with You.
  3. Toggle the apps the place you need the function to look.

On a Mac:

  1. Open the Messages app.
  2. Go to the menu bar, then click on Messages > Preferences.
  3. Click on the Shared with You tab, then choose the apps the place you need the function to look.

Shared with you on Mac

Share Content material to Different Individuals

You may as well share varied varieties of content material with your loved ones and mates in order that it seems of their Shared with You sections. Simply choose the related content material, faucet or click on Share, then choose Messages. Enter the title of the contact you wish to ship it to, then hit Ship.

Preserve All Your Shared Content material Inside Attain

Shared with You is a invaluable function that helps you arrange all of your shared content material so you could find it multi functional place. This may be fairly helpful should you’re the forgetful kind or when you’ve got lengthy, energetic threads, making it troublesome to scroll again to search out shared content material.


customize-iphone-mac-share-menu-featured
Customise the Share Menu on Your iPhone or Mac

The Share menu is a robust function on each iOS and macOS. We’ll present you tips on how to customise it to make it much more helpful.

Learn Subsequent


About The Creator

Leave a Comment