How to Disable Shared With You on Your Mac

Don’t just like the Shared with You characteristic taking over area in your Mac apps? Right here’s the best way to disable the suggestions.


Friends Discussing With a Mac

Having a devoted spot in your Mac for content material shared with you by your mates could make it a lot simpler to search out in a while. That is exactly what the Shared with You characteristic does in your Apple units: it shops all of the content material individuals have shared together with your lately.

However should you discover Shared with You a nuisance, or are merely not eager on utilizing the characteristic in your Mac, it’s nice if you wish to do away with it. Right here’s the best way to disable Shared with You in your Mac.

What Is Shared With You?

Shared with You is a characteristic launched with iOS 15, iPadOS 15, and macOS Monterey. It syncs content material like hyperlinks and pictures shared with you to corresponding apps. To be particular, the next apps assist Shared with You:

  • Messages
  • Safari
  • Pictures
  • Music
  • TV
  • Information
  • Podcasts

Associated: Unbelievable macOS Monterey Options We’re Excited About

The characteristic means that you can go on to the app’s Shared with You part, saving you the necessity to again learn and scroll via your conversations to search out the shared content material. Furthermore, it means that you can shortly reply and proceed your dialog inline with the one who despatched you the content material.

Solely content material shared with you by pals saved in your Contacts will seem in Shared with You.

Disable Shared With You From Every App on Your Mac

You’ll be able to disable the characteristic on sure apps or disable the characteristic altogether.

To disable the characteristic on a selected app:

  1. Open the related app, reminiscent of Messages.
  2. Click on the app title, Messages, on the menu bar, then choose Preferences.
  3. Click on the Shared with You tab. Uncheck the containers beside the apps you don’t wish to obtain Shared with You content material.

MAKEUSEOF VIDEO OF THE DAY

Shared With You Tab on Messages

You too can disable the characteristic altogether for that app by going to:

  1. Go to the Preferences for the related app, then click on the Shared with You tab.
  2. Click on Flip off.

Any shared content material that you simply pin will nonetheless seem within the apps even when the Shared with You is s turned off.

Is Shared With You Helpful?

In the event you don’t discover Shared with You essential, or suppose that it simply provides pointless muddle, you’ll be able to simply disable it in your Mac. After doing so, you’ll be able to nonetheless pin shared content material even when the characteristic is turned off, so that you’re probably not lacking out on rather a lot.


Friends Using Their iPhones While Sitting Beside Each Other
The place to Discover Pictures and Movies Shared With You on Your iPhone

Your iPhone makes it extremely simple to search out pictures and movies different individuals have shared with you.

Learn Subsequent


About The Creator

Leave a Comment